Events Calendar

It’s The Rest Of The World That Looks So Small: A Theatrical Revue Of Jonathan Coulton

WORLD PREMIERE: Who better channels the Flying V spirit than Jonathan Coulton, the singer/songwriter and cult sensation known for clever, engaging songs that illuminate our most intimate struggles through both humor and the fantastic? This original show explores the loneliness and longing of life through movement, puppetry, and a curated collection of songs from across Coulton’s career – featuring original arrangements performed by a live band! What if our lives are constellations, our brightest moments connecting across empty space? How do we fit into a world so vast and yet so small? Join ex-planets, lonely sea monsters, a lovable team of curlers, and more as Flying V explores what it means to be human in a vast world of possibility.

Conceived and Directed by Jason Schlafstein* and Vaughn Irving*
Music Direction and Original Arrangements by Steve Przybylski* with Jon Jon Johnson*
Original Music by Jonathan Coulton

WHEN:
Thursday, 2/1/18 @ 8pm (Preview)
Friday, 2/2/18 @ 8pm (Preview)
Saturday, 2/3/18 @ 3:30pm (Preview) & @ 8pm (Opening Night, includes reception)
Sunday, 2/4/18 @ 3:30pm
Thursday, 2/8/18 @ 8pm
Friday, 2/9/18 @ 8pm
Saturday, 2/10/18 @ 3:30pm & 8pm
Sunday, 2/11/18 @ 3:30pm
Monday, 2/12/18 @ 8pm (Industry Night)
Thursday, 2/15/18 @ 8pm
Friday, 2/16/18 @ 8pm
Saturday, 2/17/18 @ 3:30pm & 8pm (FLYING V FLIGHTS)
Sunday, 2/18/18 @ 3:30pm
Monday, 2/19/19 @ 8pm (Industry Night)
Thursday, 2/22/18 @ 8pm
Friday, 2/23/18 @ 8pm
Saturday, 2/24/18 @ 3:30pm & 8pm (Closing)

WHERE:
The Silver Spring Black Box Theatre, 8641 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910

CAST:
– Tori Meyers
– Gianna Rapp
– Ashley Zielinski
– Kristin Cardinal
– Scott Abernethy
– Seth Rosenke
– Carl Williams

BAND:
– Steve Przybylski* – Keyboard and Guitar
– Jon Jon Johnson* – Violin and More
– Alex Aucoin – Drums
– Katie Chambers – Cello
– Chip Carvell – Guitar

Jason Schlafstein*: Co-Director
Vaughn Irving*: Co-Director
Dance/Movement Choreography by Robert Bowen Smith*
Fight Choreography by Jonathan Ezra Rubin*
Caitlyn Fitzgerald*: Stage Manager
Toni Goldberg: Production Stage Manager
Philip da Costa*: Puppet Designer
Kristin A. Thompson*: Lighting Designer
Rachael Knoblauch: Co-Props & Set Designer
Kat Fleshman: Co-Props & Set Designer
Gordon Nimmo-Smith*: Sound Designer
Sydney Moore*: Costume Designer
Matt Wolfe: Technical Director
Greg Condon: Master Carpenter
Britney Mongold*: Scenic Charge
Susannah Edwards: Front of House Associate
Alex Monsell: Master Electrician

Jason Schlafstein*: Producing Artistic Director of Flying V
Jonathan Ezra Rubin*: Managing Director of Flying V
Philip da Costa*: Production Manager of Flying V
Susanna Pretzer*: Literary Manager of Flying V
Caitlyn Fitzgerald: Associate Producer of Flying V

*Company Member of Flying V